The Cornelius Cardew Concerts Trust


"Today, in the battle, who we are"

Friday, October 1, 2021, 4.30pm-9pm

Holst Room, Morley College
61 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7HT

The Cornelius Cardew Concerts Trust, in association with Morley College and the Ligeti Quartet, cordially invites you to attend a workshop of performances and discussion around string quartets in progress, being written to pay tribute to Cornelius Cardew in this his 85th anniversary year, and 40 years since his untimely death. The workshop will discuss how the compositions realise the content of the theme and how this is reflected in the form of the compositions, as well as dealing with technical issues of writing for a string quartet.

The finished string quartets will be performed by the Ligeti Quartet in a major concert to be held at Morley College on the evening of Friday, November 26, 2021. The concert aims to uphold Cardew's legacy of having fidelity to the ensemble of human relations, and being dedicated to the creation of a new world of socialised humanity.

If you require to participate online in this semi-virtual workshop, please email the CCCT or the Ligeti Quartet for a link.

View the event details as a PDF
Cornelius Cardew was a renowned composer, musician and modern communist.

The Cornelius Cardew Concerts Trust celebrates the path that he was instrumental in opening up in the world of new music. We encourage composers to respond to a call for music that, like the music of Cornelius, is dedicated to the New, a living music that might have a beautiful, militant, human-centred character.

Cornelius Cardew was always a pathfinder, and it is well known that Cornelius, as well as being an outstanding musician and composer, became a leading political figure and communist. He was a champion of enlightenment and progress in the political, social and cultural fields, his life, ideas and music forming an integral whole.

Cornelius' greatest legacy, one might say, is of keeping in step with the requirements of the times in a manner that accepts no dogmatic rendering of reality or limitations on the human spirit and striving to contribute to the creation of a new world of socialised humanity.

Find out about how you can support the trust.