The Cornelius Cardew Concerts Trust

Alternative Worlds: Retrospective of the Music of Hugh Shrapnel
Friday, July 6, 2018 - 7.30pm
Morley College, 61 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7HT

Performed in the Holst Room, as part of the Morley College "Planets" Festival of Arts and Culture, celebrating the centenary of the first performance of The Planets by Gustav Holst. Introduced by Sarah Walker.

Pieces include: Four Vignettes, Love Sonnets of a Building Worker, Hunt Hunt, Oxleas Wood, Spring, For An Alternative, Easter Uprising 1916

Performers include: Hugh Shrapnel, Jo Cooper, Lesley Larkum, Michael Chant, Ruth Shrapnel, Sarah Walker, The Ivory Duo Piano Ensemble, Quartet De Madrugada, Johan Höglind, Alan Tomlinson and Elif Karlidag

Tickets £10 (£7 concessions) available at Eventbrite or at the door. Bar open before the concert and during the interval.

Call for Compositions 2018: ONE WORLD
In conjunction with Morley College's Music Department
View the Call for Compositions as a PDF
Cornelius Cardew was a renowned composer, musician and modern communist.

The Cornelius Cardew Concerts Trust celebrates the path that he was instrumental in opening up in the world of new music. We encourage composers to respond to a call for music that, like the music of Cornelius, is dedicated to the New, a living music that might have a beautiful, militant, human-centred character.

Cornelius Cardew was always a pathfinder, and it is well known that Cornelius, as well as being an outstanding musician and composer, became a leading political figure and communist. He was a champion of enlightenment and progress in the political, social and cultural fields, his life, ideas and music forming an integral whole.

Cornelius' greatest legacy, one might say, is of keeping in step with the requirements of the times in a manner that accepts no dogmatic rendering of reality or limitations on the human spirit and striving to contribute to the creation of a new world of socialised humanity.